Author Interview: Jamie Marchant

Published March 21, 2013 by jnaomiay

???????????????????????????????Today, I am in Alabama purchasing pecans because the pecan is Alabama’s official nut.  I have discovered a new recipe using said nut that has an infinitesimal amount of carbohydrates.  Number One Son has told me to consume an infinitesimal amount of carbohydrates so that I  will be thinner.   Number One Son is restricting all intake to paleolithic foods which means he will only eat things cooked by a caveman.  Since there are no caveman anywhere near us, he is getting quite thin.  Number One Son is extremely brilliant in all matters excepting his diet so in the event I do not slim down to my pre-Number One Son figure, I will use the pecans in an pecan pie instead.  While I am indulging in a last bit of carbo-loading by eating an Alabamian fried peach pie, I happen to see author Jamie Marchant who would like to talk about her book The Goddess’s Choice.

Naomi:  Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Jamie: A peasant sorcerer and princess must develop their individual powers and combine with each other to prevent civil war.

Naomi:  Very good, Jamie.  You have passed the midterm exam and earned full credit.  I am using a little university type lingo here. 

Jamie:  I appreciate that.

Naomi:  My pleasure.  Now you may advance to the rest of the interview.  Who is your favorite character and why? You can use more than 20 words from here on out.

Jamie:  Good because that was hard. I’m not known for being short-winded.  My favorite character is probably Robrek, the peasant sorcerer of the novel, although the Princess Samantha is a close second. I’ve always been a fan of the underdog, and Robrek faces a major uphill battle. His father blames him for his mother’s death and beats him regularly. He lives among people who think he’s cursed with demon blood because of his foreign appearance. The priest thinks he should have been exposed at birth. To top it all off, he learns that in order to access his full power he must truly forgive all those who treated him vilely.

Samantha is the woman I’d like to be: strong, confident, and powerful. She ends up with her share of problems, but she starts at the top while Robrek has to claw his way up, somewhat literally.

Naomi:  And does Robrek have claws?  This is absolutely no reference to MY BOOK where we all know, You Know Who, has claws.  I rather like men with claws, but I digress.  If this character called you up tomorrow and said, “Hey, let’s go do something.”  What and where would you go with them?

Jamie:  We’d go horseback riding. That is if I could stay on a horse. It would certainly be the thing he’d want to do.

Naomi:  Will his claws fit through the stirrups?  What’s the hardest part about writing your book?

Jamie:  Cutting it down to a publishable size. That and getting Samantha’s character right. The novel was originally 328,000 words, about three times the length recommended for a first time novelist. I got it down to 178,000 words, which is still long, but fortunately, I found a publisher that fell in love with it and didn’t mind long novels.

Naomi:  That’s what I say.  Write away!  On the other hand, how many people actually finished War and Peace?  What’s the easiest part about writing your book?

Jamie:  Writing Robrek’s character. He always just seemed to flow, and he changed very little from the first to the final draft. Samantha, on the other hand, went through several major revisions.

Naomi:  If you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why?

Jamie:  A gold horse.

Naomi:  With very large stirrups, I am certain.  Do you do anything else besides write and if so what is it?

Jamie:  Yes, I teach writing and world literature at Auburn University.

Naomi:  What is that old saying…those who can do, teach?  No, it’s not quite that way, is it?  Name one character in your book that reminds you of a real person and tell us who it is and how they are similar.

Jamie:  King Solar reminds me of my grandmother. They have identical thoughts about age. Solar is ninety in the novel, and my grandmother lived until ninety-one. She thought that much too long and was ready to go by about eighty years old.  Solar feels the same.

Naomi:  Yes, my grandmother was absolute King too.  Wait.  I believe I am mixed up.  It must be all these carbs settling into my brain.  I will counterattack that be eating a tremendous amount of protein.  While I am looking for some barbeque, you can find Jamie and her books at the following links:

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/The-Goddesss-Choice-Jamie-Marchant/dp/1936519127

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-goddesss-choice-jamie-marchant/1110185060

Reliquary Press: http://www.reliquarypress.com/Reliquary_Press/Welcome.html

Email: jamie-marchant@jamie-marchant.com
Website: http://jamie-marchant.com/
Blog:  http://jamie-marchant.blogspot.com/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jamie-Marchant-Author/164706710298768?ref=hl
Twitter: @RobrekSamantha
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5258855.Jamie_Marchant

GoddessChoice

 

One comment on “Author Interview: Jamie Marchant

  • Leave a Reply

