Author Interview: Lori Ramsey

Published March 7, 2013 by jnaomiay

Today, I am touring Arkansas simply because I have never been there.  I have just visited Little Rock, which I am lr-may-nanohappy to report has both a little rock and a big rock that one may peruse.  There is no medium rock, however.  I am en route now to Bentonville which as most of you know, is the home of Walmart.  I expect to find an extraordinarily, humungous Sam’s Club there, filled with anything and everything that can be made in China.  In addition, I am hoping that due to the massive size of the store, the little taste thingies will be equally massive sized.  I haven’t eaten for three days in anticipation of this.  The fuel gauge on my oversized, formerly American made, but now Canadian, rental vehicle indicates that I must stop quite quickly.  Fortunately, there is a Kwik Stop immediately on my right and so I pull in and refresh my thirsty tank.  While I am there, I happen to see author Lori Ramsey who is filling her tank, as well.  During this interval, she would like to talk about her new book, Sunny Beam.

Naomi:  Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Lori:  Sunny Beam possesses a gift of God, which lands her far away in the arms of a dark stranger.

Naomi:  Purely by coincidence, the preschool I attended forty-odd years ago, was called Sunny Beam.  Did your Sunny Beam attend that Sunny Beam, by chance?

Lori:  No.  That’s just her name.

Naomi:  Are you certain?  It was red and had a bell tower on top.  Inside it was all yellow and had smiling sunny faces plastered on the walls everywhere.  I despised that place.  I still have nightmares about it.

Lori:  I’m sorry to hear that.  Can we talk about my book?

Naomi:  Certainly, what’s the hardest part about writing your book?

Lori:  Finding the time to write.  I get up 2 to 3 hours earlier several mornings a week just to write on my novels.

Naomi:  I get up 2 to 3 hours earlier several mornings a week because I am woken by horrific nightmares brought on by the memories of attending the Sunny Beam Preschool.  What’s the easiest part about writing?

Lori:  Before I write a story I go through the entire story in my mind, several times.  That way when I sit down to write it I just recall it as if I had seen a movie, so the actual writing part is the easiest.

Naomi:  Your mind sounds amazingly full and busy.  Mine is entirely empty and most of the time, operating in hibernate mode.  Do you do anything else besides write and if so what is it?

Lori: I’m a  ghostwriter and I also design websites and book covers.

Naomi:  Did you ever wonder if you were a little crazy for writing fantasy fiction?

Lori:  Oh yes, because my mind is constantly spinning stories.  I often wondered if I was an oddball for thinking this way, but after speaking to other authors I realize it’s an author thing.  We are a strange breed, eh?  🙂

Naomi:  Either that or we are all seriously ill.  Writing fantasy is, in fact, a socially acceptable form of psychosis.  Ah, that little plunking noise means my tank is full, and I may resume my trek across your delightful state.  While I am listening to hours upon hour of country music, you can find out more about Lori, Sunny Beam, and her large collection of both fiction and non-fiction titles at the following links:

 http://www.amazon.com/Lori-Ramsey/e/B006XHEP8M/

www.LARamsey.com 

SB-300

Leave a Reply

