Author Interview: KG Waite

Published March 4, 2013 by jnaomiay

Today, I am at the Farmer’s Market searching for something healthy to feed the inhabitants of my domicile.  This beachdogexcludes Smokey as he already eats only the very best premium mini kibbles that money can buy.  I have chosen to shop here as I have been warned by the Nanny State that my fellow inhabitants are consuming far too many processed, fatted, hydrogenated and chemically altered substances even though they taste good.  Here, I will find purer, organically grown produce from non-hybrid, non-GMO, heirloom seeds and with extra protein from the occasional flying creature.  While I am standing in line at a booth to purchase a bundle of curly leaves that might be some kind of lettuce, I happen to see author K. G. Waite who would like to talk about her new book, Downriver.

Naomi:  Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

KG:  Combining essays and a story, Downriver suggests that only by recommitting to the land can we recover what we’ve lost.

Naomi:  Very good, KG.  You have successfully passed the word restriction and now, you are allowed to be as free and wordy as you choose.  Who is your favorite character and why?

KG:  My favorite character is Nathan, the main character in Fractured.  Nathan loves the land, is clearly dedicated to Billy and feels a tremendous responsibility for all that happens in the story.

Naomi:  Is Billy a goat? No?  It seems like such a good name for a goat.  If Nathan called you up tomorrow and said, “Hey, let’s go do something.”  What and where would you go with them?

KG:  Well, Nathan’s a busy guy. We’d probably milk the cows, gather the eggs, and maybe bale hay.

Naomi:  Fun!  Just like this Farmer’s Market.  Afterward, I bet you do like me and go to Starbucks for a Grande Java Chip Frappucino to cool off.  No?  What’s the hardest part about writing your book?

KG:  Getting the dialect right. I want to convey love and respect for these characters. I hope I did.

Naomi:  Yes, getting the dialect correct is extremely important.  That’s why I write Science Fiction.  If you want someone to grunt or to speak backward it’s perfectly allowed.  If you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why?

KG:  A crystal-clear glass of water. Just because the water looks clean doesn’t mean it is.

Naomi:  Have you checked your dishwasher?  Sometimes those little squirter things get plugged and then all the glasses have tiny floaty things in them.  That’s not what you mean though, is it?  Do you do anything else besides write and if so what is it?

KG: I’m very involved in the local food movement. I belong to a CSA and spend a lot of late summer/early fall preserving the food.

Naomi:  What’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

KG: My entire wardrobe is fairly hideous.

Naomi:  That’s probably a good thing considering how much time you spend with cows and goats.  What’s in the bottom of your purse, backpack, attaché or whatever you carry?

KG: A jar of fennel seeds.

Naomi:  No!  I have a jar of fennel seeds in my purse too!  Just kidding.  I’m not sure what a fennel is.  What’s your favorite game?  Would your favorite character play it and be any good at it?

KG: Scrabble. Yes. I think Nathan would be very good at playing Scrabble. He’s a bright man and knows how to take advantage of those triple point spaces.

Naomi:  I wonder if he would like Farmville?  At any rate, the line is starting to move, allowing me to purchase this bunch of odd leafy greens which I will place on the table tonight.  Everyone will take one bite and the rest will end up in the trash while they make a late night run to the Golden Arches in pursuit of real sustenance.  In the meantime, you can find KG’s books by clicking on the covers below or find her at:

http://writinginthemarginsburstingattheseams.blogspot.com/

FR-(1563X2500)DR06

 

 Lone-Front-06

Leave a Reply

