Author Interview: Susan Noble

Published February 12, 2013 by jnaomiay

susannobleToday, I am at Petco where the pets go and where all of their dedicated servants go to fetch them all sorts of expensive things to keep them entertained, well fed and healthy.  I am in the dog section searching for a gift for my Pomeranian who unfortunately is going through a great deal of unwanted poking, prodding, pinching and pulling while he gets coiffed and pedicured in the grooming salon.  While searching for the perfectly shaped configuration of dried rawhide and a nice little bow for him to wear behind his ear, I happen upon author Susan Leigh Noble who would like to talk about her new book Destiny, Part 3 of the Elemental Trilogy.

Naomi: Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Susan: As the instrument of prophecy, Lina strives to save the Lands while battling the woman determined to take her magic.

Naomi:  Excellent Susan, exactly 20 words.  I can see right now you’re going to be an awesome interviewee.  By the way, what do you think of this piece of rawhide shaped like a lollipop?

Susan:  Cute.

Naomi:  What about this one that looks like a smashed cow?  No?  So tell me, who is your favorite character and why?

Susan: Ahh…that’s hard. It is like asking a mother to pick her favorite child. I do have to say that one of my favorite characters to write was Coy, who is a young thief. He isn’t afraid to stand up to anyone.

Naomi:  What about the telepathic cat?  Is Coy afraid to stand up to him?  How about a dragon?  No, I don’t mean the one in your book, I mean this piece of dragon shaped rawhide. You’re right.  It’s far too large for a Pomeranian.  Now, back to your book.  If Coy called you up tomorrow and said, “Hey, let’s go do something.”  What and where would you go with them?

Susan:  Well, considering he is a thief, he would want to go somewhere he can steal something…perhaps a jewelry store.

Naomi:  Or perhaps Petco where he could steal one of those fuzzy cat toy things to trick the telepathic cat so he won’t read his mind?  No?  Alright then, what’s the hardest part about writing your book?

Susan:  The hardest part is finding the time to write. I’m taking care of my two kids (ages 4 and 7), volunteering at their schools and helping with the financial aspect of my husband’s new law firm so sometimes finding time to write is almost impossible.

Naomi:  Have you tried between 2AM and 4AM?  It’s amazing what you can get done when no one else in the world is awake.  What’s the easiest part about writing?

Susan:  The actual writing was the easiest part. Since this was a trilogy, each installment was like hanging out with old friends and the story basically wrote itself.

Naomi:  I bet you were channeling the telepathic cat too and certainly that helped.  What’s in the bottom of your purse, backpack, attaché or whatever you carry?

Susan: A few pens, some change and probably an old tissue or bits of trash.

Naomi:  I’m glad to hear it’s not underwear or dead mice.  What’s your favorite game?  Would Coy play it and be any good at it?

Susan: I like playing Words with Friends on my iphone. I don’t think Coy would enjoy this type of game since he comes from a simpler background, and words are not his forte. He would probably rather play games of chance.

Naomi:  He’d need an iphone too, now wouldn’t he?  Oh, there I am being paged.  Smokey must have finished his primping and be demanding to go home.  I wonder if he’d mind if we stopped at Starbucks on the way.  They have a lovely dish for him to drink out of and he might even allow me to sit for a moment and have coffee.  While I’m off to pay 4 times more for Smokey’s haircut that I usually pay for my own, you can find out more about Susan and her Elemental Trilogy at the following links:

 

Blog – http://susanleighnoble.wordpress.com

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/SusanLeighNoble

Twitter –  http://twitter.com/SusanLeighNoble

Independent Author’s Network page – http://www.independentauthornetwork.com/susan-leigh-noble.html

DestinyFINAL

 

One comment on “Author Interview: Susan Noble

  • Leave a Reply

