Author Interview: Mathew Bridle

Published January 17, 2013 by jnaomiay

Today, I’m off visiting Windsor Castle in hopes of seeing the Queen.  Actually, I have no hope of seeing the Queen but while I am here, I’ll try to poke my head in a few windows just in case I can espy her dusting or vacuuming the rugs.  In the queue of mad hoards waiting to get within these ancient stone walls, I just happen to run into Mathew Bridle who would like to chat about his book The End of Mor. mathewbridle

Naomi:  Well hello Mathew.  It’s good to see you today.  I see you brought your brolly with you being that it’s pouring down rain (a little British lingo for those of you in Rio Linda) but not your house monkeys.

Mathew:  Yes, hello Naomi.  The house monkeys are off being educated and one always needs a brolly here in Southern England.

Naomi:  Yes, quite, quite.  I recall it well from my past life when I frequently visited this area for work.  At any rate, let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Mathew:   Young wizard takes a step on the dark side of life, gets hunted down, then sets about putting things right.

Naomi:  Oh very good, Mathew.  You did it in exactly 20 words.  That is an amazing achievement that only a fraction of authors are capable of doing.

Mathew:  Thank you, thank you.  I am in fact a product of the British school system.

Naomi:  And English is in fact, your first language.  Now, moving on, who is your favorite character and why?  Because you so expertly answered the first question, you may now use more than 20 words from here on out.

Mathew:  Icthus, a humanoid-toad-like creature. He is what he is, has nothing to hide and compels you to speak the truth.

Naomi:  Would he be offended if you told him he was as ugly as a toad?  I imagine a humanoid-toad-like creature wouldn’t really win points in the “looks” department.

Mathew:  Well no.  He would understand.

Naomi:  So, if Icthus called you up tomorrow and said, “Hey, let’s go do something”  What and where would you go with him?

Mathew:  Fishing, with a camping stove as he loves his food.

Naomi:  Would you love his food?  Does he eat human food or toad food?  How would you cook a grub or worm over your camping stove?  Actually, trying to visualize this is making me ill.  Instead, let’s discuss what is the hardest part of writing your book.

Mathew:  Procrastination. I’m doing this when I should be writing an essay.

Naomi:  And what does your wife think about your procrastination?  Wait.  Don’t answer that.  This isn’t the Dr. Phil show.  Do you have Dr. Phil in the UK?  What’s the easiest part of writing your book?

Mathew: Ideas, I have way too many.  Filtering out the right ones for the moment can be a pain.

Naomi:  If you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why? 

Mathew:  A white plasma ball. The electrical energy reminds me of the magic in the story and white of the coveted inner fire.

Naomi:  Do you do anything else besides procrastinate…I mean, write and if so what is it?

Mathew:  Read and play video games with my kids.

Naomi:  Uh oh.  Video games with the house monkeys?  Be careful Mathew.  One of my house monkeys is currently in video game rehab.  This means we have locked him back in his cage until he breaks his addiction to League of Legends.  It was interfering with that education thing.  Be on guard, Mathew.  I warn you.

Mathew:  Thank you.  I will

NaomiWhat’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

Mathew:  Me.

Naomi:  I would ask you what you are doing in your closet but I suspect it relates to both procrastination and video games.  I’m beginning to feel a great sympathy for your wife.

Mathew:  She’s okay with it.  Actually, the ugliest thing is probably my bright yellow fleece (really bright)

Naomi:  What’s in the bottom of your purse, backpack, attaché or whatever you carry?

Mathew:  Rubber gloves.

Naomi:  I am not even going to begin to go there.  Name one character in your book that reminds you of a real person and tell us who it is and how they are similar.

Mathew:  Arrborn, a priest is actually based on two real people: Brian Blessed for his over the top, effervescent life and Morgan Freeman for when the character is being more thoughtful and philosophical. Most of my characters are based around real people, I find that it makes it much easier to hold conversations in your head between them.

Naomi:  What’s your favorite game?  Would your favorite character play it and be any good at it?

Mathew:  My favorite all time game would be live dungeons and dragons, played it many years ago, so yes my character would be good at it. In general I play role playing games unless I just need to kill something, then it’s a shooter.

Naomi:  Why am I not surprised?  Do you like to play D&D in your closet with your rubber gloves on too?  No.  Don’t answer.  Moving on, did you ever wonder if you were a little crazy for writing fantasy/fiction?

Mathew:  Definitely, it’s what makes all the magic happen.

Naomi:  Something is definitely happening.  Did your friends ever wonder the same thing?  That craziness, I mean.

Mathew: What are friends?

Naomi:  The people talking to you in your closet?

Mathew:  Actually….

Well, the line has finally started to move so I’m on my way to visit the State Apartments and the Queen’s Doll House.  While I’m checking out the miniature tiaras, you can find out more about Mathew and his books online at:

website: www.theonesaga.com

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-End-Mor-Saga-ebook/dp/B007JWPK1G

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007JWPK1g

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/267179

facebook: www.facebook.com/fantasycentral

twitter: www.twitter.com/mathewbridle

The-end-of-mor-final-front-cover small

One comment on “Author Interview: Mathew Bridle

  • Leave a Reply

