Awesome and incredible author interview: J. Naomi Ay

Published December 5, 2012 by jnaomiay

Today I am participating in a Blog Tour, the requirements of which are to conduct an interview with myself.  As you all know, I am a very proficient interviewer  and interviewee so I am looking forward to this stimulating conversation with myself.   I have gathered my coffee and morning protein bar, settled myself comfortably at my desk and will proceed now to the interview.

 Naomi:  Good morning, Naomi.  How are you?

Naomi:  I’m great, Naomi.  How are you?

Naomi:  Super.  Now that we’ve got our mood established, let’s begin the interview.  Can you tell me what is the working title of your newest book?

Naomi:  Oh Naomi, I am so glad you asked.  Currently, I am working on Book 8 of the Two Moons of Rehnor series.  It doesn’t have a title as none of my books do until I finish them and try to remember what they are about.

Naomi:  You don’t remember what our books are about when you finish them? 

Naomi:  Not really.  Having so many characters doing so many different things, it’s hard to keep track of what’s what.

Naomi:  Have you thought of outlining?  Keeping notes?  Drawing a graph?

Naomi:  I think of a lot of things, none of which are on that list.  (Phone rings)  Excuse me, I need to take this.  Hello?  Yes, this is Naomi.  What?  No, I don’t know anything about waste to energy machines.  Yes, this is the correct phone number.  Oh!  Hold on.  (Naomi puts hand over receiver).  Naomi, could this call be for you?  They want to talk about some kind of recycling machine.

 Naomi:  Yes, give that to me!  Hi, this is Na…actually, this is Naomi but it’s also someone else.  Yes, that’s right, we distribute revolutionary alternative fuel systems.  Yeah, but see Naomi is my middle name.  Well, I only use it when referring to my books.  It’s a pen name, you know.  Why?  Well because I don’t want to go to the local Safeway and have people look at me and whisper behind their hand that I’m that crazy woman who writes those fantasy stories about that weird guy with the silver eyes who does cool stuff and…what?  Yeah, I know he needs to do more cool stuff.  My husband complained that in the last few books he was just sitting around, drinking beer and watching too much football.  Who?  No, not my husband, well yes my husband and that guy.  Yeah, the one with the silver eyes in the books…so did you want to hear about the recycling systems?  Ok.  I’ll call you back later.  Bye.  Now, Naomi, back to my book…er…your book.  Can you just answer the questions so we can get this over with?

Naomi:  Ok.  Go for it.

 Naomi:  Where did the idea come from for your book?

Naomi:  What idea?

 Naomi:  We were talking about your current WIP.  Where did you get the bloody idea for it?

Naomi:  Oh, right, I remember now.  My friend suggested it.  Oh, and that thing about Senya, the weird guy with silver eyes, not doing enough cool stuff.  I’ll make certain he does plenty of cool stuff in this one.

 Naomi:  Good.  What genre does your book fall under?

Naomi:  Nutrition and Health.   Ha ha!  That’s a joke.  Just kidding.  It’s a sci-fi/fantasy.

 Naomi:  (sighing heavily)  Which actors would you choose to play in your movie rendition?

 Naomi:  Hmm…Um…there aren’t any that I know that have silver eyes so I guess nobody could do it.  We could make a cartoon.  That’d be kind of cool.

Naomi:  No, it wouldn’t.  What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Naomi:  Katie’s going to be less self-centered and bitchy and Senya’s going to do more cool stuff.

Naomi:  That’s the plot?

Naomi:  No, that’s just what happens.

Naomi:  That’s not enough!  You can’t write a whole novel about Katie being a bitch and Senya doing cool stuff.

Naomi:  Why not?  I wrote 7 others like that and my reviewers say my plots are excellent.

Naomi:  (Heavy sigh)  Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Naomi:  What does an agency do?

 Naomi:  How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Naomi:  Which one?  The original?  Twenty-five years.  The current one?  Five weeks.

 Naomi:  What other books would you compare this story to?

Naomi:  Golden’s Quest- The Two Moons of Rehnor, Book 6.  It’s also a little bit like Of Blood and Angels, The Two Moons of Rehnor, Book 3.

Naomi:  Who or what inspired you to write the book?

Naomi:  The voices in my head.  It was the only way to shut them up.

Naomi:  What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Naomi:  Steven and Hannah are going to get it on but not like in the 50 shades kind of way.

Naomi:  That’s great.  Thank you very much, Naomi.  It was a pleasure interviewing me today.  To find out more about me and my books, you can find us online right here or check out our website at www.jnaomiay.com.

 To continue this blog hop, be sure to visit my friends at their blogs one week from today:

S.I. Hayes  http://shannonihayes.wix.com/sihayes#!blog/c14xx

Bette A. Stevens  http://www.4writersandreaders.wordpress.com/

Ahmad Taylor http://ahmaddarkside.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

