Reader Interview: Bob

Published September 15, 2012 by jnaomiay

Today, I am sitting on a couch watching the Raven’s game with Bob who is a reader.  While we’re sitting here, Bob has agreed to brave the hot seat.  Before his butt begins to boil, let’s get on with our interview.

Naomi:  Now Bob, is that your real name and if not, why won’t you tell me your real name?

Bob – That’s my real name and I’m not embarrassed by it.  It’s spelled backwards and forwards and it’s the same thing like one of those palindrome things.

Naomi:  Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your favorite book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Bob -A New Orleans detective that retires to New Iberia Parish and it’s his investigations.  A recovering homicide detective that works…

Naomi:  Stop!  That’s very interesting and thank you, Bob.  That’s definitely not one of my books not that you need to discuss one of my books.  Of course, you’d get more points if you discussed my books but no, you chose to discuss James Lee Burke’s book but we won’t dwell on that.  Now,  who is your favorite character and why? You can use more than 20 words from here on out.

Bob – Senya because he’s arrogant, frustrating, intelligent, handsome, has weird feet and looks a lot like me.

Naomi:  Is he in James Lee Burke’s book?  No, of course he’s not and you just earned multiple bonus points for that.  But, you don’t look a thing like him except maybe you’re the same height but you do have about 100 lbs on him.  For those of you who don’t know, Senya is of course the main character in all of my books.  So now we get to the real interesting questions:  If Senya called you up tomorrow and said, “Hey, let’s go do something.”  What and where would you go with him?

Bob – I’d like to go to his place on Rozari and see the house there and I’d want to  see how he reclaimed the land there because I’m into land use and land reclamation.  Then I’d like to watch the Dolphins game on his enormous vid.

Naomi:  Um, actually, you can’t use the same method for land reclamation. 

Bob- I’m aware of that.

Naomi:  What’s the hardest part about finding a good book?

Bob – Finding an author I like.

Naomi:  I agree completely.  I hate authors.  What’s the easiest part?

Bob -Once I find an author, I just keep reading what they do.

Naomi:  Do you do anything else besides read and if so what is it?

Bob – I make sawdust.  Sometimes things come out of it but mostly I just make sawdust.  I like to ski but I haven’t been skiing in about 5 years.

Naomi:  What’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

Bob – A plaid shirt that my mother gave me before she died so I can’t throw it away.

Naomi:  And that was in 1978?  Did you ever wonder if you were a little crazy for reading fantasy/fiction?

Bob -Yeah but I really like it because my mind will expand in those directions.

Naomi:  As long as your body doesn’t continue expanding.  Did your friends ever wonder the same thing?

Bob -My friends have always thought I was strange in some respects.

Naomi:  No!  Thank you so much for enduring the hot seat today.  If any other reader would like to brave the hot seat or luke warm seat if they prefer, please drop me a line.

 

Leave a Reply

