Author Interview: Tallis Piaget

Published September 12, 2012 by jnaomiay

Today, I am at the local big box home store looking for a spare backscatter detector for my electron microscope.  I just happened to run into my friend Tallis Piaget who is in search of something far less technical that has to do with a plumbing appliance.  Tallis is the author of the new book Black Boogieman.  While we’re waiting for one of those guys in a red vest to come reach the plumbing accessory down from a shelf that’s in the nosebleed section, Tallis and I are going to discuss his book.

Naomi: Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Tallis: A covert vigilante group invades the inner cities of America in order to convert the destructive neighborhoods into something comparable….

Naomi:  Now, Tallis, the directions specifically say 20 words or less.  I had to cut you off there so our readers will never know what the destructive neighborhoods were comparable to unless they read your book.

Tallis:  Oh.  Can’t I just add right here that they are comparable to a Utopian Society?

Naomi:  Ah!  You snuck that in there didn’t you?  Being that you are scientist, you ought to understand that I use a complex and highly developed algorithm which maximizes reader enjoyment by limiting the first question to 20 words.  It is also meets IEEE standards and is UL/CSA approved.

Tallis:  Okay, I must admit, I did not know that.  Learned something new today! My apologies for going over the word count; hopefully I did not disrupt the algorithmic permutations.

Naomi:  Now, continuing on, what’s the hardest part about writing your book?

Tallis:  Divulging personal information about Black America most certainly was the most difficult part about writing this book.  When one typically speaks out on the negative aspects of the black American community, they are usually ostracized and subsequently considered a pariah.

Naomi:  Don’t you think that happens in other sectors too though?  For instance, were I to allow any of my immediate family, friends or neighbors to read my books and they recognized themselves in them in a less than favorable light, they most certainly would ostracize me too.  In fact, my mother would most likely disown me.

Tallis:  I certainly see your point, and a good one it is.  Yet it is still disconcerting to think of the potential backlash that could occur because of this story.

Naomi:  What’s the easiest part about writing your book?

Tallis: The easiest part of this book was envisioning and creating a process that could possibly rid our streets of the nefarious aspects that plague our cities.  It was very easy to picture the possibilities of a beautiful, clean and peaceful “ghetto”.

Naomi:  Ah yes, fantasy is wonderful, isn’t it.  Do you do anything else besides write and if so what is it?

Tallis: I am an Analytical Protein Biochemist.  I work in a lab using the most state of the art scientific instrumentation in the world.  My job is to produce a preponderance of data which identifies and characterizes purified proteins.  I am a scientist and an author.  Crazy combination, huhn?

Naomi: Not necessarily.  The creative side of your brain is obviously itching to get out of the cell the analytic side has locked it in.  

Hmmm, I’d never thought about it that way. Interesting point.

Naomi:  Ah, there’s the guy with your accessory!  While we join the mile long queue at the check out counter, you can find Tallis’ book online at:

http://www.amazon.com/Black-Boogiemen-Tallis-Piaget/dp/1462895344/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1345573314&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=blackboogiemen

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/black-boogiemen-tallis-piaget/1106031898?ean=9781462895335

http://www.goodreads.com/blackboogiemen

One comment on “Author Interview: Tallis Piaget

Leave a Reply

