Author Interview: Barbara Hosbach

Published August 30, 2012 by jnaomiay

With the political circus going on in all tents here in the U.S., now would be an apropos time to chat with Barbara Hosbach, author of Fools, Liars, Cheaters & Other Bible Heroes.

 Naomi:  Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book. In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

 Barbara:  It explores 28 Biblical characters who faced life with a variety of personal strengths and weaknesses…just like us.

Naomi:  I’m not sure whether it’s comforting or not to know that fools, liars and cheaters existed throughout our history in positions of power.   What was the hardest part about writing your book?

 Barbara:  Crafting a query letter that would interest publishers.

Naomi:  That is indeed the hardest part which is why many of us just avoid it.  What was the easiest part?

Barbara:  Coming up with subjects. I get so curious when I read the Bible—How did Leah feel when her husband loved her sister more than he loved her? Why did Jesus pick a skeptic to be one of his disciples? I could go on and on.

Naomi:  It seems to me those questions have been asked for at least two thousand years and the debate still goes on and on.  If you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why?

 Barbara:  A gold crown. One image of heaven describes people taking off their crowns and throwing them at God’s feet. I love that image. It tells me that we don’t have to worry about impressing others with our own glory to cover up our imperfections. The glory is that God is love and we are loved as we are.

NaomiDo you do anything else besides write and if so what is it?

Barbara:  I blog about Scripture twice a week on my website. I also make a pretty good meat loaf.

Naomi:  Awesome.  I just buy the meatloaf premade at the grocery storeWhat’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

 Barbara:  The most comfortable, beat up pair of sneakers you ever saw.

Naomi:  I’m glad to hear that.  Some folks have come up with demons and all sorts of odd things.  What’s in the bottom of your purse?

Barbara:  Enough loose change to choke a horse. I don’t have to work out with weights—I just lug my purse around.

Naomi:  I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one whose coin purse regularly dumps.  I’m also glad to hear you’re not carrying around underwear.  I still can’t get over the author who did that.  Name one character in your book that reminds you of a real person and tell us who it is and how they are similar.

Barbara:  All of them remind me of real people, that’s why I find them so intriguing. But if I had to pick only one, I would say Andrew, who actually reminds me of both of my sisters. You don’t hear a lot about Andrew. He’s content to be in the background, but he’s always there to lend a helping hand when needed. Just like my sisters.

Naomi:  Well, they are all sort of real people, I guess, although I suppose that’s been debated for at least two thousand years too.  What’s your favorite game? Would your favorite character play it and be any good at it?

Barbara:  Scrabble. Yes, my favorite character would probably be able to come up with words in two or three different languages.

Naomi:  Indeed they would.  Unfortunately, we don’t allow Aramaic when we play.  That would net an immediate disqualification and you’d be ousted from the game.

Barbara:  Really?  Why?

Naomi:  While Barbara ponders this, you can find Barbara and her book online at:

 http://www.biblemeditations.net

 

2 comments on “Author Interview: Barbara Hosbach

  • Leave a Reply

