Author Interview: S.I. Hayes

Published August 23, 2012 by jnaomiay

S.I. Hayes and I are sitting in a spaceport orbiting Derius III waiting for our flight home which unfortunately has been delayed due to weather back on Earth.  At least, that’s what the nasty, three-legged woman at the service counter is telling us.  I think it’s a mechanical issue and we’re stuck here waiting for some part to fly in from the outerbanks of the galaxy.  In the meantime, let’s chat about S.I.’s new book In Dreams  The Road Unavoidable.

Naomi: Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book. In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

S.I.: Amara tries to ignore the path chosen for her, until she is suddenly rerouted by an annoyingly charming stranger.

Naomi:  I have a feeling we’re going to be rerouted as well.  I hope not to Mars.  Last time I was there I couldn’t find a decent restaurant.  Actually, I couldn’t any restaurant.  They all closed about a millennium or two ago.  Who is your favorite character and why? You can use more than 20 words from here on out.

S.I.:  Awe, do I have to pick one… *sigh, I flipped a coin. Morgan Braith wins. He is the second central character in my Novel “In Dreams The Road Unavoidable.” He is a Meiores Meiore, which translates to Mirror’s Mirror. A species of humanoid that uses telepathy and shape shifting in order to mimic others. But Morgan is not cold and unfeeling like the rest of his clan, which set him at odds with them, so he travels… A lot. I love him because he doesn’t lie, much, and generally tells it like it is whether one wants to hear it or not.

Naomi:  I’m so glad someone in this galaxy tells it like it is.  Certainly not that gate agent.   If this character called you up tomorrow and said, “Hey, let’s go do something.” What and where would you go with them?

S.I.   I’d definitely want to go to Zuar-Newy. Just to get there is an adventure in bravery, as you are lifted miles into the air by giant soaring eagles, while you sit in a little metal basket. It is a city where indulgence is encouraged, from restaurants offering worldly delicacies, to an all out amusement park sporting a three-story high roller coaster; it’s a hell of a ride. And if you are the naughty sort, The Dark District is known for its Brothel, where Morgan himself occasionally puts in a few hours for the Mistress Madeline, manacles and all!

Naomi:  Sounds a bit like San Francisco.  What’s the hardest part about writing your book?

S.I.   Sticking to the outlines! I have pages and pages, but the brain likes to go on tangents! So I have to catch myself before I veer off into some other direction.

Naomi:  Someday I’ll have to read up on what an outline is.   What’s the easiest part?

S.I.  The banter, Morgan and Amara have a lot of it, it helps you to really get a sense of who they are, and I love it when he makes her twitch.

Naomi:  I imagine they twitch in Zuar -Newy the same way they do in San Francisco too.   If you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why?  A purple octopus?  An orange hula hoop?

S.I.  A Raven. So obviously, the color here is black. I choose him, because Amara keeps one called Jeremy as her familiar. The bird has gotten a bad rap throughout the last hundred years or so, but before Poe immortalized him as a harbinger of doom, the story was very different. To the Romans and the Norse, they were Oracles, in some Native tales they were the bringers of light to the world. Another of the “speaking” birds, it was said by Greco-Roman myth, that the bird couldn’t keep a secret. Which fits his role in my novel, as he can’t seem to keep his mouth shut.

Naomi:  Neither can a few authors I know, present company excluded of course.  What’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

S.I.   An Opossum, named Monkey. Seriously, I have one of those portable closets; you know the kind, metal bars, and wheels, and I am currently sharing the room with a baby opossum, who I have dubbed Monkey, I don’t know how he got in, but it seems he’s here to stay.

Naomi:  Is he from Zuar- Newy too?

S.I.  Actually, he’s from San Francisco.

Naomi:  What’s in the bottom of your purse, backpack, attaché or whatever you carry?

S.I.  Funny thing about all of that. I don’t carry anything. I know it’s very unwomanly, but if I had, more than my wallet on me I would most certainly set it down someplace and forget it. I actually used to lose backpacks when I was in school! I just make sure when I go out that I have enough pockets in my pants to carry everything I need. Cigarettes, lighter, chapstick, and wallet. If it doesn’t fit, it stays home.

Naomi: I’m glad to hear that.  Last week, I spoke to a woman busy carrying underwear in her purse. Name one character in your book that reminds you of a real person and tell us who it is and how they are similar.

S.I.  That’s a toughie, all of my characters are a small part of me, but The Madame Madeline, she reminds me of my best friend, and Co-Author Will Van Stone Jr. She’s tough, strong willed and doesn’t cut corners when it comes to her opinions. Will is a lot like that. They both also love what they do.

Naomi:  What’s your favorite game?  Would your favorite character play it and be any good at it?

S.I.   I love the Smackdown VS. Raw video games. Not for the games them selves, but for their create-a-character options. With that, I have been able to create 3d renders of some of my favorite characters. I think that Morgan would burn out my Xbox360 trying to make his own likeness, as he is his favorite subject.

Naomi:  I suggest he makes himself a little Mii on the Wii.  Amazingly, they look just like us even though they have no legs.   Did you ever wonder if you were a little crazy for writing fantasy/fiction?

S.I.  I don’t wonder if, I know I am! But you have to be a little twisted in order to write any kind of fiction. Especially now a days, people have an inherent need to escape into unknown worlds, to see things they won’t believe. I hope that I have been able to paint some interesting characters and places and that readers will join me in my little world.

Naomi:  I can see we are all a little more than twisted.  By the time we get home to Earth, we’re all going to be positively pretzel-shaped.  Did your friends ever wonder the same thing?

S.I.  Yeah, probably,  if you asked them they’d say I’m a bit out there.

Naomi:  I wish we were out of here.  Oh yes, hold on, they’re about to make an announcement.  While S.I. anxiously wait to find out if we’re ever going to see home again, you can find S.I. and her book online at:

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/SIHayes

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/S.I.Hayes.Author

Twitter: https://twitter.com/shannonihayes

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/SIHayes

Available in Paperback @Amazon:http://www.amazon.com/Dreams-The-Road-Unavoidable-Volume/dp/1478340886

Leave a Reply

