Author Interview: Tracy Kauffman

Published August 13, 2012 by jnaomiay

I’m sitting at the park watching the kids play.  Author Tracy Kauffman is residing next to me on the bench diligently trying to poke that little straw thing into that tiny little hole on that funny little bag of water, juice and sugar concoction without having it squirt all over her top.  Tracy has written a book for children called Gwendolyn’s Wish.

Naomi:  Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.  Hold on!  Mick, get off off that slide!  You are far to big.  Good heavens, you are 21 already!  Sorry, go ahead Tracy.

Tracy: Gwendolyn’s Wish is a children’s book about a young girl who receives a special friend, a parrot who can grant wishes.

Naomi:  That’s 21 words but I’m not going to penalize you because…hold on again.  Ben!  You’re 165 pounds.  Let that little girl play on the swing before you destroy it!  Sorry Tracy, who is your favorite character and why? You can use more than 20 words from here on out.  I said now, Ben!

Tracy:  Gwendolyn is my favorite character because she has great morals and beliefs.  She doesn’t ask her parrot for beauty or riches.  She remembers to thank her neighbor for her special friend.

Naomi:  That sounds very sweet.  My mother had a talking parrot.  His name was Fred.  After he died, we discovered he was a she, but that’s another story.  If this character called you up tomorrow and said, “Hey, let’s go do something.”  What and where would you go with them?  I’m keeping an eye on you, Ben!

Tracy: I would go to her fantasy world because it is beautiful.  No cares, no worries but pure beauty and a place of peace.

Naomi:  Can I go as well?  What’s the easiest part?

Tracy:  This story was easy because the jest of it came from a dream I had.  The dream was vivid and gave me the main story line.  The names of the characters were a little more difficult to come up with.

Naomi:  Isn’t that interesting how so many authors attribute their story lines to dreams or nightmares depending on your genre?  If you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why?  A purple octopus?  An orange hula hoop?

Tracy: A red parrot because he is the reason for Gwendolyn’s happiness.  He grants wishes and is her companion and friend.

Naomi:  Of course!  What is it, Rachel?  No, they do not have free WIFI at the park.  Tracy, do you do anything else besides write and if so what is it? 

Tracy: I work part time as a registered nurse in a nursing home.

Naomi:  When you wrote your book, who was the first person you told and how did they respond? 

Tracy:  I told my husband, Chris.  He is my best friend and constant encourager.  Gwendolyn’s Wish will be available on E Book Very soon.  I will post to my website when available.  Sign up for my mailing list.

Naomi:  That’s wonderful, Tracy and I wish you all the best with your book.  No, I am not going to buy you anymore ice cream, you’ll all ruin your dinner.  Whatever possessed me to take a bunch of teenagers to the park?  Rachel, get out of that sandbox before you destroy your kindle.  Yes, Mick, I realize you are not a teenager any longer.  Why are you acting like one though?  While I ponder this, you can find Tracy online at:

My website: http://tracykauffman.yolasite.com/
To order Gwendolyn’s Wish: http://www.publishamerica.net/product48538.html

Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Gwendolyn-s-Wish?keyword=Gwendolyn%27s+Wish&store=nookstore

Kindle listing:  http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=Gwendolyn%27s+Wish

Leave a Reply

