Author Interview: Carol Cadoo

Published August 11, 2012 by jnaomiay

Today I’m sitting on the deck watching the seagulls drop clams on the rocks and chatting with my friend Carol Cadoo who has written her first book,  Deja Vu of Love.

Naomi: Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Carol: It just couldn’t be, no way, things like this don’t happen in real life… yet there he stood. Stunning, arrogant….

Naomi: Sorry, I had to cut you off there.  It’s the rules.

Carol:  Really?  Why?  I was just getting started.

Naomi:  Sorry.  I specifically said 20 words or less.

Carol:  Damn!  Is there anything I can do to say the rest?

Naomi:  Let me think about.  Okay, hand me a piece of that watermelon and I’ll let you continue but be forewarned, I’m counting.

Carol:  Phew.  Okay, so as I was saying, there he stood.  Stunning, arrogant and ok Jazz Kelly had to admit it sexy as hell. Have you ever had that feeling you’ve experienced something before a smile, a sigh, a touch a look… Oh my god the look, when Jazz Kelly saw “the look” she almost collapsed. That’s when Jazz knew, this was Déjà Vu of Love.

Naomi: Who is your favorite character and why? You can use more than 20 words from here on out but don’t push it, I’m watching you.

Carol:  I love Patrick he is funny and witty.  A little irreverent that quality I am totally attracted too.  I think Patrick and Jazz have simpatico together I like the quality of their relationship as well as their interaction

Naomi:  If this character called you up tomorrow and said, “Hey, let’s go do something.”  What and where would you go with them?

Carol:  Shopping Patrick loves to shop and so do I, and then we would have to do lunch somewhere outside and fabulous.

Naomi:  Now that is a fantasy, a guy who loves to shop.  My husband gets Mall Disease just driving into the parking lot.

 Carol:  What’s Mall Disease?

Naomi:  Shortness of breath, weakness in the extremities, kind of like a heart attack but he gets Shortness of Credit Card too.  Let’s get back to your book.  What’s the hardest part about writing your book?

Carol: Learning to edit myself sometimes I would spend hours and I do mean the hours of a zealot new writer.  Rewriting, poking, prodding, forcing, at the end of the day if the character does not want to say the line or be put in the position they are going to dig in their heels and not go, metaphorically speaking of course (Carol is smiling)

Naomi:  What’s the easiest part?

Carol:  The dialogue I let my characters develop organically through their dialogue.  I love love love writing dialogue.  That stands to reason as I got my start as a dialogue doctor.  So I love writing dialog.

Naomi:  Dialogue doctor?  Do you hand out prescriptions?  Have two extemporaneous conversations and call me in the morning?  Forget that.  Now, if you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why?  A purple octopus?  An orange hula hoop?

Carol:  Man this was such an unexpected question I actually completed the interview and came back to it.

Naomi:  It’s that extemporaneous thing.  Sorry, continue.

Carol:  Kudos it is pretty impressive to come up with a question I have never been asked ever. I think after much thought one of the shells you can hear the ocean in.  Because of the softness of the image and the sound.  A haunting kind of sound that I believe if we looked at this abstractly lived in Jazz.  Her quest if you will is to get in harmony with the sound rather than resisting and fighting it.  The sound being the metaphor for the entire missing chapter in Jazzes’ life.  Now I am not a beige person but I would say beige, sand not ugly beige shabby chic beige.

Naomi.  Whoa.  That was all way over my head. Do you do anything else besides write and if so what is it?

Carol: Yes I was an actress, director and choreographer for many years, until I shattered my kneecap.  From that point on I became a very successful wedding planner, but my true passion is writing, it completes me.

Naomi:  What’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

Carol: Oh girl that would be my smoky gray Wal-Mart robe with pockets.  I like the gray because it does not show the dirt LOL and it is warm and comfy and I live in it during the winter.

Naomi: Have you ever considered washing it?  You might discover that when it’s clean, it’s actually pink or blue?  What’s in the bottom of your purse, backpack, attaché or whatever you carry?

Carol: You are so funny let me go look.

Naomi patiently waits and grabs another slice of watermelon.

Carol:  Oh no this is not good, a notice about a fix it ticket I forgot to do.  Ahhh other than that let’s see oh yeah tobacco, smeared lipstick (cherry red) oh and my fav here left over dog treat.  Rolled up to look like a pig in a blanket.

Naomi:  Here’s comes Smokey to take care of that left over dog treat for you.  Good boy.  Now,  name one character in your story that is based on a real person and tell us who it is and how they are similar.

Carol:  Wow well let’s see Patrick is based loosely on my best friend and writing partner of thirty years and it’s him because he always gave me unconditional love as Patrick gives Jazz.  We are taking a little break in our friendship at this point.  Hope it all resolves.

Naomi:  Maybe he really doesn’t like shopping.  Give him a remote and sign up for the 24 hour football channel.  It does wonders for your relationship.  What’s your favorite game?  Would your favorite character play it and be any good at it?

Carol: Oh my favorite games are those online puzzles looking for the hidden objects and no Patrick would not play the game well.  Concentration would kill him that’s necessary for the game.  I am a killer by the way.  (Carol is laughing she has spent a lot of time doing that reading your stellar interview questions)

Naomi:  Tell me Carol, did you ever wonder if you were a little crazy for writing fantasy?

Carol: No I just assumed it as a matter of point.

Naomi:  Probably a safe assumption.  Did your friends ever wonder the same thing?

Carol: Ditto see above.

Naomi:  Maybe you should be seeing a doctor who specializes in something other than dialogue?  When you wrote your book, who was the first person you told and how did they respond?

Carol:  I told my best friend Danny we ran a dinner theatre and I said Danny go get me 3 packages of those yellow legal pads and a package of ink pens.  I am going to write a book.  So he went to the store got the stuff and I wrote the book Déjà vu of Love and here we are.  What a great series of interview questions.  Thanks for the opportunity to answer them.

Naomi:  My pleasure.  You’re welcome to that last piece of watermelon.   For the rest of you, to find Carol’s book Deja Vu of Love on Amazon, go to this link.

http://www.amazon.com/Deja-Vu-of-Love-ebook/dp/B008FK66J6/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1341688023&sr=1-1&keywords=carol+cadoo

Leave a Reply

