Author Interview: Greg Kuhn

Published August 8, 2012 by jnaomiay

Today I am having a cup of decaffeinated herbal tea and carefully avoiding the whoopie pies while speaking with non-fiction author Greg Kuhn who has written a fascinating new book  called “Why Quantum Physicists Don’t Get Fat.”

Naomi: Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Greg: My book teaches people with unwanted weight how to finally lose it by re-framing their diet and exercise within new…

Naomi: Sorry Greg, I had to cut you off there.  The rules specifically state 20 words or less.

Greg:  Yes, but then no one will understand what my book is about unless I explain further.

Naomi:  I understand that but I use a complex algorithm to guarantee the maximum enjoyment of my readers by ensuring that first response is exactly 20 words.

Greg:  What about the second response?

Naomi:  It’s all yours.  Go for it. 

Greg:  As I was saying, people can reframe their diet and exercise within new paradigms from the amazing science of quantum physics.

Naomi:  I haven’t the foggiest idea what that means.  Isn’t Quantum Physics where a guy jumps into a time machine and pops out in some other decade?  Can I jump into something and pop out in  my 22 year old body?  I’d even take my 32 year old body at this point.

Greg:  Actually, no but the relevance to weight loss is all explained in my book.

Naomi:  What was the hardest part about writing your book?

Greg:  The most challenging part about writing Why Quantum Physicists Don’t Get Fat was making sure the potentially complex (and, for some, potentially boring) science was explained very plainly and simply, without over-simplifying it or being redundant.  As a non-fiction writer I always want my books to be as accessible and user-friendly as possible and I relied upon reader feedback (and input from my editor) to ensure I wrote an eye-opening, life-changing book, while still making it fun to read.

Naomi:  Quantum Physics and fun sound like an oxymoron.  What’s the easiest part of writing your book?

Greg: First, the research was fun; quantum physics is a mind-blowing science and it offers so much new, life-changing information to us that my research was very exciting.  Second, I love the act of writing; in-and-of itself, writing is a form of active meditation for me.  When I write I am fully invested and fully alive in the present moment – which means I am mostly free from the pre-established patterns of thought which tend to govern my (and everyone’s) construction of the material world around me.  Quantum physicists sometimes refer to this state as being in the “pre-cognitive moment” and it is exhilarating.

Naomi:  That almost sounds like you are jumping into that time machine thing.  If you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why?  A purple octopus?  An orange hula hoop?

Greg:  A huge tuning fork painted purple.  Have you ever rung a tuning fork and witnessed how all like-tuned tuning forks within range will begin to ring in unison?  Quantum physics teaches us that vibration is, literally, the construct of all material objects and, in that vein, you are a tuning fork.  However you’re vibrating, you will cause similarly “tuned” objects to vibrate in unison – they will be attracted to you and become part of your subjective material reality.  My book changes your vibration in amazingly positive ways and allows you to attract your ideal body.  And I painted it purple because that’s a royal color and I’m a Minnesota Vikings fan.

Naomi:  Ah, now I know for a fact that you are still human.  Until you mentioned football, I had my doubts.  In fact, I had a thought that you had popped out of one of my books and maybe I was imagining this entire conversation.  Do you do anything else besides write and if so what is it?

Greg:  I love being a husband and a father (of four boys).  I also love to read, jog, kayak, hike, and coach baseball.  When I was growing up I wanted to be a teacher or a professional baseball player – one of those dreams came true.

Naomi:  What’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

Greg: Why?

Naomi:  It goes back to the enjoyment algorithm thing.

Greg: I have a button-up, short sleeve shirt circa 1992 that my wife detests.  I call it my “car buying shirt” because when I wear it I look like a no-nonsense, conservative “nerd” with no fashion sense.

Naomi:  And in 1992 you bought an AMC Gremlin with it?  What’s in the bottom of your purse, backpack, attaché or whatever you carry?

Greg:  Still that enjoyment algorithm thing?  Usually a pack of Trident bubble gum and some ink pens

Naomi:  What’s your favorite game? 

Greg:  I love Apples to Apples because it’s such a great way for a larger group to laugh together.  My oldest son downloaded an “adult” version of this game with gross and politically incorrect cards – my wife and I play this with our friends and we all howl with laughter.

Naomi:  Now we’re back to that nerd thing.  Did you ever wonder if you were a little crazy for writing a book?

Greg:  A non-fiction writer has to deal with the same fears as a fiction writer, namely that little voice inside our head saying, “Who do you think you are, writing this?  Who is going to listen to you?”  That fear-based voice is empowered when we live outside the present moment, in the two biggest illusions humans encounter: the past and the future.  Thank goodness so many authors have chosen to minimize or ignore fear’s voice and the world has so many beautiful and important pieces of literature and art because of their courage.  But I suppose there has to be an element of what a non-writer might call “a little crazy” for someone to decide to rise above life’s “normal” expectations and expose herself by writing and publishing.

Naomi:  It is definitely an exposition.  Ha, a little play on words there but it is indeed  like taking off your clothes and baring more than your soul.  Did your friends ever wonder the same thing?

Greg:  As a self-help author, I’ve found that I have to be careful not to talk too much about my writing with family and friends.  Even when I’m personally excited about what I’m writing.  As the old saying goes, “You can’t be a prophet in your own land” (or you might annoy your family and friends)!

Naomi:  That’s true for all authors whether we are doing self-help or not.  My kids especially the 13 year old is constantly telling me to shut up about my books.  Of course she is telling  me to shut up about other things too but that’s an entirely different topic.  When you wrote your book, who was the first person you told and how did they respond?

Greg:  I told my wife and she is my biggest supporter.  Having someone who believes in me and provides me with positive, uplifting energy is vital to my writing.  I’m very grateful to have the support of my wife and sons.

Naomi:  You are indeed lucky.  Greg’s book is a fascinating read and as someone who has been dieting since I was old enough to count calories, I am always on the lookout for a new way to manage weight.  You can find out more information about Greg at his blog at:

http://whyquantumphysicists.wordpress.com/

or find his book at Amazon here:

http://www.amazon.com/Why-Quantum-Physicists-Dont-ebook/dp/B008I3CURM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1341779750&sr=8-2&keywords=why+quantum+physicists

 

Leave a Reply

