Author Interview: Elissa Daye

Published August 3, 2012 by jnaomiay

Today I am sitting at the pool, doused in SPF 112 and sipping some warmed over lemonade from which the ice has long since melted.  Next to me is my fellow author Elissa Daye who is turning an interesting shade of pink but would still like to chat about her new book, In Flames, book 1 in the Destined Series.  

Naomi: Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Elissa:  Lysandra is torn from everything she knows and has to learn how to survive in Aiden’s world filled with secrets.

Naomi:  That’s excellent, Elissa.  You are one of the few highly intelligent and creative authors who has actually managed to keep her synopsis to the required number of words.  I applaud you.  Oops, sorry.  Did I splash some sunscreen in your eye?

Elissa:  Only a little.

Naomi:  Terribly, terribly sorry.  That stuff stings, I know.  Anyway, back to your book.  Who is your favorite character and why? You can use more than 20 words from here on out.

Elissa: Lysandra is definitely my favorite character in this book. Her passion for life, despite her troubled circumstances drives the story forward. She finds the ability to not only love Aiden, but to find the power of love within herself, a power tied directly to the Adrianic magic that is handed down to every woman of Lena.

Naomi:  Cool!   I love magic even when it’s Adrianic.  What’s the hardest part about writing your book?

Elissa:  Letting go, allowing my instincts to drive the story, and daring to write a passionate story without worrying what other people would think about me as a person. In Flames is extremely adult, and not what other people expected me to write. I am extremely proud of this story. It allowed me to grow so much as a writer and find where I felt most comfortable.

Naomi:  Extremely adult?  Like when you get hot and no amount of lemonade or sunscreen will help?

Elissa:  Well, yes.

Naomi:  Elissa,  you’re turning awfully red there.  Would you like some of this?  (Naomi hands Elissa the bottle of SFP 112.   Elissa fans her face and waves it away.)  Yes, well, moving on.  What’s the easiest part about writing your book?

Elissa:  The easiest part is usually coming up with the concept of where the story starts and where I want it to go. I had images in my head that I wanted to capture with words. My imagination is always there to support the writing process.

Naomi:  I bet!  If you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why?  A purple octopus?  An orange hula hoop?

Elissa:  I would pick a fire of course. Aiden is the flame and Lysandra is the oxygen that he breathes. Each were destined to be together, burning while bringing life to each other. The bright burning colors, ebb and flow with each turn and twist in their lives.

Naomi:  I love writing stories about lovers.  Unfortunately, mine usually end up with him acting like a dickhead no matter how magnificent he is.  You too?

Elissa: No!

Naomi:  Alright then, when you wrote your book, who was the first person you told and how did they respond?

Elissa:  I would have to say the first person I told was my husband. I live with him, so it’s kind of hard for him not to notice me hunched over the laptop for hours on end. He works a full-time job so I can raise our daughter and follow my dreams to be a successful published author. The second person I told was my best friend, Kevenn. He is actually one of my betas and meticulously goes through each and every word to help me create a more polished story.

Naomi:  That’s wonderful, Elissa and good luck to you in your book and all future books.  Are you sure you don’t want a little of this sunscreen?   I’m looking at you and the image of a lobster is coming to mind.

Elissa:  Well, maybe.

The rest of you can find Elissa’s book online at:

http://www.amazon.com/In-Flames-Destined-Series-ebook/dp/B008LFKWXQ

2 comments on “Author Interview: Elissa Daye

  • Leave a Reply

