Author Interview: Natascha Scrivener

Published July 27, 2012 by jnaomiay

I’m over in the U.K. today having a bite of crumpet and a spot of tea with Natascha Scrivener who is telling me all about her book, The Wire: Searching for Reason.

Naomi: Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Natascha: The Wire: Searching for Reason is a sci-fi/fantasy novel in which dreams become reality.

Naomi:  You did an incredible job there, Natascha.  You only used 15 words.  You are now entitled to 5 more words.  Would you care to add anything?

Natascha: Buy it now?

Naomi:  Two more?

Natascha: Please?

Naomi: One more?

Natascha: Word?

Naomi:  Done.  Now…

Natascha:  What?  I didn’t mean “word” as my last word.  It was a question.

Naomi:  That’s alright.  It was close enough.  Now, can you please tell me who is your favorite character and why? You can use more than 20 words from here on out and I won’t count.

Natascha:  Reason Goodwin has to be one of my favourites, if she wasn’t I don’t suppose she would be my protagonist. But I also love Roux because essentially he is the ‘ideal man’ in an imperfect shell. I find this interesting.

Naomi:  I find your characters’ names very interesting.  What’s the hardest part about writing your book?

Natascha:  My characters names are very important to the story… ‘Reason Goodwin’ came from an 17th Century grave stone in a grave yard near where I live. As for what was the hardest part about writing my book – writing it. Or rather finding the time to write it. I have a 1 year old and I’m expecting our second baby at the end of August so time is not on my side! However I’m a strong believer in that if you WANT to do something you WILL find time to do it…

Naomi: Wow!  Congratulations!  What’s the easiest part of writing your book and when do you find time?

Natascha: I find the characters and the description the easiest part of writing anything. I love to study people and cram in as much detail as possible without it being too much, and without constantly ‘telling’ everything. I like everyone I create to be able to talk for themselves.

Naomi:  If you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why?  A purple octopus?  An orange hula hoop?  A disposable nappy filled with…never mind.

Natascha: A silver plum.

Naomi: Do you do anything else besides write and if so what is it?

Natascha: Besides writing I’m a full time Mummy and wife with a penchant for gardening (I grow my own vegetables etc.) and cooking.

Naomi:  Let me tell you, that full time mummy stuff never goes away, even when they are in their twenties.  What’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

Natascha: The majority of my maternity clothes!

Naomi:  Ha!  What’s in the bottom of your purse, backpack, attaché or whatever you carry?

Natascha:  Crumbs from various things that my daughter has eaten on car journeys, change, and probably a screwed up baby wipe.

Naomi:  I don’t want to be looking in there.  Name one character in your story that is based on a real person and tell us who it is and how they are similar.

Natascha: You certainly wouldn’t want to pick pocket me.  No one in my story is based on a real person. Although there are probably aspects of me and the people I know in there somewhere…probably more likely the people I dislike…

Naomi: What’s your favorite game and please don’t tell me Candy Land?  Would your favorite character play it and be any good at it?

Natascha:  : I have never heard of Candy Land?!  I love board games. Monopoly and Scrabble would be my top two. Reason would sit and play them with me. Roux would win effortlessly every time.

Naomi: It must be an American thing.  We know what’s going to be on this years Christmas list!  

Did you ever wonder if you were a little crazy for writing fantasy?  

Natascha:  I’ve never written it before! ‘The Wire’ was something that I wrote as a 500 word flash fiction piece for a competition that my Mum found in a magazine. It didn’t win. I never heard anything back from them but it planted the seed, and after thinking about it for five years I’ve actually done something with it!

I think you do have to have a very strong imagination to be able to write in general though, and maybe some people would think that was a little bit crazy?

Naomi:  Perhaps it’s just hormonal.  Did your friends ever wonder the same thing?

Natascha:  I have two groups of friends, the supportive ones  who ask about what I’m doing, read what I’ve written and generally enjoy it! Then I have the ones who don’t ask about what I’m doing, don’t read it and think what I do ‘isn’t really a proper job’. (The latter group I don’t see anymore…)

Naomi: Good for you!  Love me, love my book!  When you wrote your book, who was the first person you told and how did they respond?

Natascha:  The first person I told was my husband, and he was incredibly supportive and loved the idea. He was the one that wrote my blurb for me (my original was FAR too long, I’m not very good at being concise!)

Naomi:  That’s excellent.  I wish I could find someone to write my blurbs.  Why are blurbs more difficult than writing the novel?  While we ponder this, you at home can go online and see Natascha’s books at the following links:

Website: www.nataschascrivener.webs.com

Twitter: @Someofherparts

Blog: www.http://nataschascrivenerauthor.blogspot.co.uk/

Facebook Page:http://www.facebook.com/thewiresearchingforreason

One comment on “Author Interview: Natascha Scrivener

  • Leave a Reply

