Author Interview: Elisabeth Niederhut

Published July 24, 2012 by jnaomiay

Today I’m chatting with Elisabeth Niederhut who has written her first book entitled “The Ocean’s Call”

Naomi: Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.

Elisabeth: It’s about a 17 year old girl named Cassie who finds out that she’s a mermaid.

Naomi:  Now Elisabeth, you have edited my questions.  All of my faithful legions of readers know that I demand you give me the synopsis in twenty words or less.  You have taken out that requirement and given me less than 20.

Elisabeth:  I’m sorry?

Naomi:  Good.  Now you are at 20.  The reason I do this is very complex.  It allows me to understand your inner psyche and the emotional struggles you are going through that ultimately come out in your fantasy writing.

Elisabeth:  Huh?

Naomi: Never mind.  What’s the hardest part about writing your book?

Elisabeth: Putting the time in. First there’s writers block, which doesn’t help, plus I’m working on more than one project. I think I’m a bit of a fanatic.

Naomi:  I think I’m fanatically blocked.  More roughage might help.  But about your book, what’s the easiest part?

Elisabeth: The actual writing process. Once I sit down and take the time to start writing, the words just come to me. It helps to plan ahead and have an outline, but I’ve written entire chapters from scratch before.

Naomi:  What’s an outline?  I admire writers who can actually put down cogent thoughts before letting the voices in their heads just run wild.   Do you do anything else besides write and if so what is it?

Elisabeth: I like to code. I particularly enjoy game design. I’ve made things like a text game making program, visual novels, and role playing games.

Naomi:  Now that is very cool and certainly you must have a very organized mind to be able to do that.  Did you ever wonder if you were a little crazy for writing fantasy?

Elisabeth: I think you have to be a little crazy to write really good fantasy. The Ocean’s Call is pretty realistic compared some of my writing, though. It’s all about trying to come up with ideas that no one has before, and re-imagining old ones.

Naomi:  Hmm…a little crazy to write really good fantasy so if we extrapolate to a lot crazy will we be writing totally awesome fantasy or absolute garbage?  Is it a circle or a ray? 

Elisabeth:  I don’t know.

Naomi:  I don’t either.  We’ll analyze that while you all go take a look at Elisabeth’s book The Ocean’s Call.  You can also find Elisabeth online at:

Website – www.ElisabethNiederhut.com
Blog – http://elisabethniederhut.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

