Author Interview: Reba Ponder Weiss

Published July 14, 2012 by jnaomiay

Today I am sitting on the front porch, drinking a glass of iced peach tea, gazing at the wisteria and chatting with my friend Reba Ponder Weiss who has just released her first book THIS I KNOW: Sarah’s Confession.

Naomi: Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Reba: THIS I KNOW: Sarah’s Confession, explores the ageless question—What does faith look like when refined by extreme circumstances?

Naomi: You’re entitled to one more word.  Do you want to add anything?

Reba: No.

Naomi: Perfect. That makes 20.  Now tell me, who is your favorite character and why? You can use more than 20 words from here on out.

Reba: My favorite character has to be Clyde.  I love writing about people who are “abnormal” in some way.  Heck, there is no limit to what they can do.  They can paint their face purple and wear a bucket on their head—it’s okay, cause they are capable of anything.  If a character is “normal” you are constrained to what a normal person would do.  That’s just not as much fun.

Naomi:  I agree with you completely.  I love abnormal people too.  What was the hardest part about writing your book?

Reba:  It has to be the edits.  I poured the manuscript out in about three months, but it took almost triple that time to proof.  Seven people read my book before I sent it to a professional proofer.  Each time someone found errors.  I thought, hey, after this many proofs its gotta be perfect, but then I read it again.  There were still errors (granted they were just typos or comma stuff).  Even the last day, right before I uploaded the book to CreateSpace, I noticed a word capitalized that didn’t need to be.  Stephen Spielberg always says, “A film is never released, it just escapes.” That is true with a book too.  I could have tweaked this or improved that…till the cows came home.

Naomi: That’s an excellent quote and so true, especially with commas.  Those little buggers just don’t want to stay put.  They drop out of sentences and then they pop up again where they shouldn’t be at all.  I vote to just eliminate them altogether.  Who’s with me?   Anybody?   Alright, back to Reba.  What was the easiest part about writing your book?

Reba:  Deciding what to write about.  I draw inspiration from my Southern roots and lifelong nightmares.  Years of vivid dreams are kept in a personal journal, full of hand written notes and sketches, detailing the hours in the night when my mind seems to take its own little road trip.  THIS I KNOW: Sarah’s Confession is a spine chilling, and sometimes disturbing, paranormal thriller based on one of those journeys…which began when consciousness ended.

Naomi:  Oh my!  Have you talked to anyone about this?

Reba:  I wrote a book.

Naomi:  Oh.  Right.  What’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

Reba:  Well that’s a hard thing to choose.  It could be that grotesque demon lurking under mismatched shoes and a pile of dirty laundry.  He waits there silently in the shadows for me to walk by without the light on.  Or, it could be that red dress I wore ten years ago.  It hangs there all innocent reminding me I use to be two sizes smaller.  That dress has some nerve.

Naomi:  I’m with you there. Demons I can handle.  Reminders of a smaller size send me into a tailspin.  What’s in the bottom of your purse, backpack, attaché or whatever you carry?

Reba:  A thumb drive of course, you’re such a silly girl.  Every author worth their weight has a thumb drive with an adobe and Word copy of her book, a bio picture, a book summary and a JPEG of the book cover!  Everybody knows that!

Naomi:  A thumb drive?  Honey, that is so 2011.  I just whip out the old iPhone, bring up my author page and thrust my reviews into the perfect stranger’s face.  When you wrote your book, who was the first person you told and how did they respond?

Reba:  I told everyone who had ears on the side of their head.  Yep, you couldn’t shut me up.  I told my husband, all my close friends, friends I hadn’t talk to in years, the neighbors and even a guy in Wal-mart.  Yep, I think everyone knows except my boss.  He doesn’t need to know.  They all responded the same—that Reba, she has an idea in her head, so stand back while she makes it happen!

Naomi:  That’s awesome, Reba and you did write a great book.  Good luck to you!

To find Reba and her book THIS I KNOW: Sarah’s Confession online check out

Website:  www.rebaponderweiss.com

There you can watch an exciting Video Book Trailer and you can also see it on YouTube at:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bZ4NK1vit60&feature=plcp

Amazon Paperback Page: http://www.amazon.com/this-I-know-Sarahs-Confession/dp/1475203462/

Amazon Kindle Page: http://www.amazon.com/this-know-Sarahs-Confession-ebook/dp/B008FHF1TK/

Blog:  http://rebaponderweiss.wordpress.com/

Pintrest: http://pinterest.com/RebaPonderWeiss/

Twitter:  @RebaPonderWeiss

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ThisIKnowSarahsConfession

2 comments on “Author Interview: Reba Ponder Weiss

  • That was a wonderful interview J. I must say, you definitely have a way of bringing out the best in those you interview. Such a comfortable setting too !! May I get you another glass of iced tea??

  • Leave a Reply

