Author Interview: Ahmad Taylor

Published June 19, 2012 by jnaomiay

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Ahmad Taylor who has written his debut Sci-fi/Suspense/Thriller: Dark Side of the Moon

Naomi: Let’s start with just a brief synopsis of your book.  In 20 words or less, tell me what it is about.

Ahmad: Ex-Government agent battles clandestine organization to uncover global conspiracy and rescue his missing family.

Naomi:  That’s only 15 words.  You’ve got five more.  Do you want to add anything?

Ahmad:  Grab your copy today…Thanks!

Naomi:  Spot on.  You just made it.  Now, tell me who is your favorite character and why? You can use more than 20 words from here on out.

Ahmad:  This story is very close to my heart and each of the main characters is based upon someone in my life, but having to choose one I vote Jeanie. She is an overachieving heroine who uses familial strife to overcome and succeed in the real world.

Her character appears to be simple and single-minded, but as the story progresses, you see she is a very multi-layered person, with a variety of motivations that are often hidden from the other characters and the reader.

The story follows the main character, Derrick, but the key to the entire story is by far, Jeanie.

Naomi:  Interesting.  Now you have me intrigued about who Jeanie really is.  What’s the hardest part about writing your book?

Ahmad:  Patience. DSOM is my debut novel, and the biggest struggle I had in writing was to take my time and not rush through it. When I was on my 12th hr of writing in a day, arms tired, head hurting, exhausted, I had to learn how to take a break and pick things up later, instead of forcing myself through a chapter or thought and in turn forcing the writing. My own excitement in trying to complete the book, was often my biggest hindrance in creating a complete story. Editing brought out a lot of flaws in certain areas which I can strictly attribute to not be patient.

Naomi:  I hear you.  Patience is not one of my attributes either.  What’s the easiest part?

Ahmad:  The plot. I don’t know how unique I am in my story development, but this book literally came to me in a dream. It was so vivid and impacted me so dramatically that when I woke up I grabbed a pen and pad and had an outline in 3 hrs.

Once I started writing, the ideas just kept pouring out. My biggest issue was my inability to type fast enough to keep up with my thoughts. I would often have to stop typing and just jot ideas down by hand for fear of losing a new idea to my miserable typing speed.

Naomi:  That’s so cool.  At least it wasn’t a nightmare.  What’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

Ahmad:  Why?

Naomi: It will give us insight into whether you are or not you are seriously disturbed.

Ahmad:  I have a long-sleeve, purple, silk shirt. Where I got it from, and why… I truly can’t remember, and why I have disposed of it with lighter fluid and a match yet, I cannot answer either, but if I ever need to dress like the artist formerly known as Prince, I am all set.

 Naomi:  Well, that sounds like you are right up there.  What’s in the bottom of your purse, backpack, attaché or whatever you carry?

I have been carrying the same messenger bag for the last 10 years, and I almost never clean it out. I recently looked through the contents for the heck of it, and found a “love note” I was passing back and forth with a girl in one of my college courses, circa 2004.

Naomi:   2004 is already recent history in my book.  Did you ever wonder if you were a little crazy for writing fantasy?

Ahmad:  I think every writer is bit “unique” is a placid way of putting it. No matter what your genre is, for a person to take what is in their mind and put it down on paper, and then share those thoughts with the world is not the sanest thing to do. It’s very personal and a bit narcissistic.

Having created a completely fictional world in which people function normally, isn’t something a psychologist would recommend for a grow individual to do, so while crazy is not necessarily the word I would use, I’ll go back to saying, “unique”.

I’ve also read that artistic genius comes at a cost to some sanity, so I guess the better my writing gets, the crazier I will be.

Naomi:  Yes, well that purple shirt is definitely an indication of something.  When you wrote your book, who was the first person you told and how did they respond?

Ahmad:  My sister. She thought I was full-o-crap. Not sure she believes me even now, though I keep sending her copies, links, interviews, etc. So skeptical.

Naomi:  Do you want me to speak with her?  I’ll be happy to.  Ahmad is offering a free kindle copy of his book Dark Side of the Moon.  All you have to do is respond to this post and on July 18, a random respondent will be chosen as the winner!  

For all of our other readers, here’s how you can find Ahmad  and his book, Dark Side of the Moon online:

@AhmadDarkside
AhmadTaylor.com

http://www.amazon.com/Ahmad-Taylor/e/B00740NBQO

https://www.facebook.com/DarksideAhmad

http://ahmaddarkside.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

