I’m on Desiree Finkbeiners blog today

Published June 1, 2012 by jnaomiay

Check out a fun and interesting author interview as well as all of Desiree’s great art here today:

http://finkart.yolasite.com/news-and-events/blog-tour-stop-53-j-naomi-ay-guest-author

Here is an excerpt:

If you could only describe yourself using only THREE words… what would they be?  Protective, Loyal and Frizzy(Today is a really bad hair day).

Independent publishing VS going with a small press: Your two cents?  Indie of course because it’s easy, cheap and quick.  Of course, promoting is left entirely up to you and so all that easy, cheap and quick can turn into a big discouraging ZERO.  I like to think and hope that the proverbial cream will rise to the top anyway and let’s face it, we’re not in this to get rich quick or otherwise.  We’re doing this because we have a story to tell and writing it down and sharing it is something we love.

Is there something you have at your desk at all times when you write?  My desk is cluttered with lots of things at all times (ie. Phone, pencil case, bills, multi-colored sticky notes, blue tooth, sd cards, flash drives…etc etc.)  In fact, there’s very little room for my laptop.   Actually, most of the time that I actually write as opposed to work, is in the early evening while sitting on my bed with my laptop on my lap.  The only thing that is on the bed besides me is my Pomeranian.
How do you overcome writer’s block?  My books are all written as first person narratives and switch characters constantly.  I did this because if I get blocked, I can easily start someplace new with a new perspective.  I figure, if I get blocked it’s because where ever I am going is not working so time to head down a new path.
If you could choose the cast if your book were to become a movie, who would play the leading roles?
I can’t.  I can’t answer this.  Sorry, I just can’t.  It’s too traumatic.  I’m being traumatized just thinking about it.  I have this vision of how these people look in my head and assigning them to real people would spoil that vision and give them real flaws that they don’t have.  They have plenty of their own flaws but I just can’t give them an actor’s flaws too.
Background:
My series is called The Two Moons of Rehnor.  It’s a lot of fantasy, light science fiction, a healthy dose of romance, a bit of paranormal as the main character is definitely “different” and includes a bit of politics and spiritualism as well.  I consider my genre “all of the above.”  Here is the blurb for Book 1, The Boy who Lit up the Sky
 After a thousand years of war, the Mishnese and Karupta have made peace by wedding the Mishnese Princess Royal to the Karupta Crown Prince. Their son whose birth was foretold ten centuries ago is destined to rule the entire planet and end the wars forever. But the Princess and the baby have died during childbirth or so it was said. In the meantime, a strange half-breed infant boy is left at an orphanage with a purse full of gold coins. The Boy who Lit up the Sky follows the early years of Senya from the streets of Old Mishnah, to the Palace of Mishnah and from there to Karuptani where he is taught to live off the land and fight for that which is his. Along the way, he finds the Human girl who unbeknownst to her, shares his important destiny.
4 of the 5 part series are up on kindle now.
Here’s the link to book 1 – The Boy who Lit up the Sky
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007B77U8A
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/163718
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-boy-who-lit-up-the-sky-j-naomi-ay/1110413689
Leave a Reply

