Interview with Author Desiree Finkbeiner of the Ethos Series!

Published May 22, 2012 by jnaomiay

Today I have a special treat for you.  Desiree Finkbeiner has agreed to chat with me for a moment and answer some totally random questions.  Desiree is the author of  the Ethos series, a YA urban fantasy/paranormal romance/action/adventure.  Morning Star (book 1),was  released March 28th 2012 and is doing fantastic with rave reviews.

So Desiree,

If you had to pick one object to represent your story and one color to paint it in, what would it be and why?  A purple octopus?  An orange hula hoop?

Obviously by my book cover, I’ve chosen a purple dragonfly to represent my book 😉

Do you do anything else besides write and if so what is it?

Art. I’m a fantasy and outsider artist with work appearing in hundreds of private collection world-wide. Though I haven’t created much of my normal work this year due to focusing on my book series, I did just complete 16 illustrations for the print edition of Ethos.

What’s the ugliest thing in your closet?

I have a floor length dress made from shiny, black, puckered PVC. It’s covered in buckles down the front (totally Edward Scissor Hands, lol. Something Tim Burton would put on one of his characters) The jacket that goes with it is also puckered PVC with thick, fluffy, checkered, neon pink fur sleeves. Topped off with a pink feathered head cap. Hideous, but I can’t pull myself to get rid of it!

Name one character in your story that is based on a real person and tell us who it is and how they are similar.

HA! There’s a character named Justin in my book, a red neck with serious issues. I modeled him after my sister’s ex-husband. They both make tasteless jokes and hit on women, clueless that the people around him detest him.

When you wrote your book, who was the first person you told and how did they respond?

I told my sister, Jamie. She’s been very supportive and I don’t think I’d have ever finished the book without her encouragement.

Check out the Ethos Series on Amazon here:  http://www.amazon.com/Morning-Star-Ethos-ebook/dp/B007PSUV2W/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1

As Desiree mentioned she is also an artist and her cover is an example of the beautiful works she does.

You can also check out Desiree’s Blog here:

http://desireefinkbeiner.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

